Our first stop is the Archeological site of Nemea where we admire the sanctuary that was set up for Zeus, the father of Heracles, and The Stadium of Nemea. According to mythology, it was where Heracles killed the Lion of Nemea.
There you can visit the Archeological Museum, where besides the exhibits from the Zeus’ sanctuary, the museum collections include finds from various archaeological sites in the Nemea region, which span from the Early Neolithic to the Byzantine times..
We continue with a 20 min drive to Mycenae, the historical setting for much of ancient Greek literature, including the works of the poet Homer. Here you will visit the archeological site, home to the Lionesses Gate, and the tomb of King Agamemnon.
Visit the archaeological site, home to the kingdom of mythical Agamemnon. You will see the Lion’s Gate, the Cyclopean Walls, the Royal Tombs, including Agamemnon Clytemnestra's, the Treasury of Atreus and the famous Acropolis of Mycenae (approximately 1 hour).
Then we will visit the city of Nafplio, the first capital of modern Greece. Enjoy strolling around the old town, have a coffee beside the sea viewing the fortified Bourtzi islet. In addition you will have the opportunity to visit two UNESCO'S world heritage monuments, the city of Nafplia is like a living museum.
You can admire the Venetian fortress of Palamidi, the Acronafplia with its stunning vista of the Argolic gulf, to reach the top, you must climb 999 steps. You will have 2,50 hours to to wander around one of the most beautiful towns in the world.
The final stop of the tour is the city of Epidaurus, home to the World Heritage listed ancient theatre and believed by ancient Greeks to be the birthplace of Apollo’s son Asklepios.
The theatre at Epidaurus is perhaps the best preserved theatre of ancient Greece and is still used today during the summer due to its amazing acoustics. Finally we take the road back for our departure point.
The region is situated around the city of Corinth, in the north-eastern part of the Peloponnese peninsula. The eastern coastlands of Corinthia are made up of pastures and farmlands where olives, grapes, tomatoes and vegetables are cultivated. The rest of Corinthia is mountainous. Its tallest mountain is Kyllini in its west and the largest lake is Lake Stymphalos situated in the southwest. Notable attractions include Ancient Corinth with its acropolis, Acrocorinth, the Corinth Canal, the thermal springs of Loutraki, the archaeological sites of Nemea, Sicyon and the Heraion of Perachora.
Acrocorinth (Greek: Ακροκόρινθος), "Upper Corinth", the acropolis of ancient Corinth, is a monolithic rock overseeing the ancient city of Corinth, Greece. "It is the most impressive of the acropoleis of mainland Greece," in the estimation of George Forrest. Acrocorinth was continuously occupied from archaic times to the early 19th century.
The ancient town of Corinth was built at the meeting point of southern and northern Greece. In Greek mythology it was where Jason and Medea lived, and it was the city where St. Paul lived and preached for two years.
Diolkos was a paved trackway near Corinth in Ancient Greece which enabled boats to be moved overland across the Isthmus of Corinth. The shortcut allowed ancient vessels to avoid the long and dangerous circumnavigation of the Peloponnese peninsula. The phrase "as fast as a Corinthian", penned by the comic playwright Aristophanes, indicates that the trackway was common knowledge and had acquired a reputation for swiftness. The main function of the Diolkos was the transfer of goods, although in times of war it also became a preferred means of speeding up naval campaigns. The 6 km (3.7 mi) to 8.5 km (5.3 mi) long roadway was a rudimentary form of railway and operated from c. 600 BCE until the middle of the 1st century. The scale on which the Diolkos combined the two principles of the railway and the overland transport of ships remained unique inantiquity.
The Corinth Canal (Greek: Διώρυγα της Κορίνθου, Dhioryga tis Korinthou) is a canal that connects the Gulf of Corinth with the Saronic Gulf in the Aegean Sea. It cuts through the narrow Isthmus of Corinth and separates the Peloponnese from the Greek mainland, arguably making the peninsula an island. The builders dug the canal through the Isthmus at sea level; no locks are employed. It is 6.4 kilometres (4 mi) in length and only 21.4 metres (70 ft) wide at its base, making it impassable for most modern ships. It now has little economic importance.
The Heraion of Perachora (Greek: Ηραίο Περαχώρας) was a sanctuary of the goddess Hera situated in a small cove of the Corinthian gulf at the end of the Perachora peninsula. In addition to a temple of Hera of unusual construction and antiquity, the remains of a number of other structures have also been found, including a L-shaped stoa, a large cistern, dining rooms, and a second potential temple.
Vouliagmeni Lake is a 20 minutes drive away from Loutraki and it has been declared as a region of rare natural beauty! The peaceful lagoon of Vouliagmeni lies 16-km. northwest of Loutraki and was caused by the subsidence of the ground to a kind of trench. The lagoon is 2 km. long and up to 1 km. wide, as its depth is estimated at 40 m. Α channel of 6-m. width provides an outlet to the sea. There are some greek taverns beside the lake, great point for lunch time. Across the cape of Olmion, we can see the Alkyonides Islands, also known as Kalanisa, which are composed of four islands: Zoodochos Pigi, Daskaleio, Glaronisi and Prasonisi.
Nemea was famous in Greek myth as the home of the Nemean Lion, which was killed by the hero Heracles, and as the place where the infant Opheltes, lying on a bed of parsley, was killed by a serpent while his nurse fetched water for the Seven on their way from Argos to Thebes. The Seven founded the Nemean Games in his memory, according to its aition, or founding myth, accounting for the crown of victory being made of parsley or the wild form of celery and for the black robes of the judges, interpreted as a sign of mourning. The Nemean Games were documented from 573 BC, or earlier, at the sanctuary of Zeus at Nemea. At the temenos, the grave of Opheltes was surrounded by open-air altars and enclosed within a stone wall.The sanctuary's necessary spring was named Adrasteia: Pausanias wondered whether it had the name because an "Adrastus" had "discovered" it, but Adrasteia, the "inescapable one", was a nurse of the infant Zeus in Crete.
Saint Patapios of Thebes (fl. 4th century AD) is the patron saint of dropsy. Saint Patapios’ memory is celebrated on 8 December (main celebration) and also at the Tuesday 2 days after the Sunday of Easter (in memory of the day that his relic was discovered). His relic is kept at the female monastery of Saint Patapios at Loutraki.
St. Patapios was born in the 4th century A.D. in Thebes, Egypt to wealthy Christian parents. Patapios, at a young age, lived the life of a hermit in the desert. Many visited him to take his advice and to listen to his preaching. Later in his life, Patapios left Thebes and the desert for Constantinople. There he met two other ascetics, Varas and Ravoulas which both became saints. Saint Ravoulas was hermit at the gate of Romanos. Saint Varas built the monastery of St John the Baptist at Petrion.
Saint Patapios is well known for the miracles that he did in the past and still does nowadays, which are recorded with full details in the historical archives of the monastery which mai. In the monastery of St. Patapios live 40 nuns. It is located in Greece, mountain Gerania at an altitude of 650 meters (2132 feet) and is close to Loutraki contains a large library. The monastery overlooks the sea and Loutraki. Entering the monastery of St. Patapios we encounter the church Virgin Mary.
The region is situated in the eastern part of the Peloponnese peninsula and part of the tripoint area of Argolis, Arcadia and Corinthia. Much of the territory of this region is situated in the Argolid Peninsula.
Epidaurus Ancient theatre
The most famous theatre in the world!! The theatre is marveled for its exceptional acoustics, which permit almost perfect intelligibility of unamplified spoken word from the stage to all 15,000 spectators, regardless of their seating. The rows of limestone seats filter out low-frequency sounds, such as the murmur of the crowd, and amplify high-frequency sounds from the stage. Nowadays great performances take place there every summer, in July and August.
The archaeological site of Mycenae is the imposing ruins of one of the greatest cities of the Mycenaean civilization, which dominated the eastern Mediterranean world from the 15th to the 12th century B.C. and played a vital role in the development of classical Greek culture. Mycenae is indissolubly linked to the Homeric epics, the Iliad and the Odyssey, which have influenced European art and literature for more than three millennia. From the hill on which the palace was located one can see across the Argolid to the Saronic Gulf.
The findings from Mycenae can be viewed in the National Archaeological Museum of Athens. Mycenae is an UNESCO World Site.
Nafplio is a seaport town in the Peloponnese that has expanded up the hillsides near the north end of the Argolic Gulf. The town was an important seaport held under a succession of royal houses in the Middle Ages as part of the lordship of Argos and Nauplia, held initially by the de la Roche following the Fourth Crusade before coming under the Republic of Venice and, lastly, the Ottoman Empire. The town was the capital of the First Hellenic Republic and of the Kingdom of Greece, from the start of the Greek Revolution in 1821 until 1834. Nafplio is now the capital of the regional unit of Argolis.
The castle of Bourtzi is located in the middle of the harbour of Nafplio. The Venetians completed its fortification in 1473 to protect the city from pirates and invaders from the sea. The Greeks regained it from the Turks on June 18, 1822, from where they assisted in the siege of Nafplio. Until 1865 it served as a fortress. It was then transformed into residence of the executioners of convicts from the castle of Palamidi. From 1930 to 1970, it served as a hotel. Since then, it is mainly a tourist attraction hosting occasionally parts of the Summer Music Festival.